I haven’t listened to the song “Debaser” by the Pixies so many times in a week since high school. As a result, I could not get the song out of my head as I fell asleep last night.

It all started with a photograph taken last week. My sister and I are holding a friend in the air, and for whatever reason we are both pulling at her eyelid. The picture was posted on Facebook, and I commented with a clip of “Debaser” lyrics because of the line about eyeballs.

As I read the lyrics before posting, I became ensnared and unraveled by them. I got the film Un chien andalou (in the song it’s called un chien andalusia), which is a 16 minute short film by Surrealist film director Luis Buñuel and artist Salvador Dalí.

Later I dreamed about making films: notes: DREAM: a series of short films, scheduled to start at 8:30…i was the only there watching…made by a friend…

debase |diˈbās|
verb [ trans. ]
reduce (something) in quality or value; degrade : the love episodes debase the dignity of the drama | [as adj. ] ( debased) the debased traditions of sportsmanship.
• lower the moral character of (someone) : war debases people.
See note at humble .
• historical lower the value of (coinage) by reducing the content of precious metal.

Pixies: “Debaser”

got me a movie
i want you to know
slicing up eyeballs
i want you to know
girlie so groovy
i want you to know
don’t know about you
but i am un chien andalusia
i am un chien andalusia
i am un chien andalusia
i am un chien andalusia
wanna grow
up to be
be a debaser, (debaser) (x6)

got me a movie
ha ha ha ho
slicing up eyeballs
ha ha ha ho
girlie so groovie
ha ha ha ho
don’t know about you
but i am un chien andalusia
i am un chien andalusia
i am un chien andalusia
i am un chien andalusia

(debaser), debaser (x6)

