"Empty shelves in the fiction section at the Donnell" by Salim Virji, http://www.flickr.com/photos/salim/2351214894/

A School without a library: Cushing Academy.

David Abel’s article “Welcome to the library. Say goodbye to the books” discusses the groundbreaking phenomenon of a school that has destroyed its library and built a posh technologically-equipped “learning center” (computers, electronic readers, flat screens.)

I recently started using the Kindle to read books. I didn’t think I would like it but I find it convenient in many ways. The downsides are the payment- not cheaper than a paperback, and the inability to share.

I am not going to worry my about how the school can pay for something like this, and instead ponder a world without bookshelves, the musty smell of pages, the feel of a potential book in hand, and the design that adds to meaning (typography, paper type, cover texture).

Libraries are labyrinths- spooky, fun to get lost in- Gothic-

No Ink, No Paper: What’s The Value Of An E-Book? by Lynn Neary

